Fascinating Facts About the Planets

No two planets in our solar system are exactly alike. However, the planets can be divided into two categories, terrestrial or gas giants.

The four inner planets — Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars — all have rocky surfaces.

The four outer planets — Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune — are gas giants. These planets also have orbiting rings.

Tiny Pluto, the outermost planet, is unique. It has a rocky core, but its surface is a thick layer of ice!

All the planets move around the Sun in the same direction.

Seven of the nine planets rotate, or spin, in the same direction. Venus and Uranus are the two planets that spin the opposite way!

The planets were all named after Greek or Roman gods.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment